Harold William Thorpe

Stories of our Grandparents. Stories for our Grandchildren.

The 4 book covers of the O'Shaughnessy Series

This series by Wisconsin author Harold William Thorpe is an “epic tale of a bygone era.”  In turns riveting and wistful, the books tell the story of the O’Shaughnessy family pursuing their dreams and overcoming adversities with determination and grace.

An award-winning, heartwarming family saga with charming cast of characters that readers will love.

>> More about these books <<    >> How to order <<

The 1914 Christmas Truce

The 1914 Christmas Truce

On Christmas Eve, Dec. 24, 1914, British, German, and French soldiers on the war’s western front disregarded explicit orders from their superiors, and threat of consequences including court marshal and even execution. They rose up out their trenches, put down their weapons, and celebrated the Yuletide together.

Real Life Characters

The O’Shaughnessy Chronicles are a fictionalized account of my family’s history in rural Wisconsin. The Good Friends Storybooks were written for my grandchildren and are also inspired by real people and events. Meet some of the real life people who inspired the characters in my books.

Write Your Family Story Series

Think your family history might be interesting enough to be the basis of a historical novel? In the Write Your Family Story series, Harold William Thorpe, who turned his mother’s memoir into novels based on his family history in rural, Wisconsin, shares how to begin.

Write Your Family Story – Part 2: Fiction vs Non-fiction

One of the first decisions you must make when writing your family story? Fiction or Non-fiction.

Write Your Family Story – Part 3: Your Goals and Active Verbs

Readers like stories that move. Make your family story more compelling with the help of that most useful fellow — the active verb.

Write Your Family Story – Part 4: Details, Details

Most family stories are told and written in simple narrative style. You need details to flesh out the story and make it come alive.

Write Your Family Story – Part 5: Tension

The ebb and flow of suspense in a novel is what keeps readers turning pages to the end. Tension is a must in a story. How do you create it and keep it going?

Write Your Family Story – Part 6: Essential Choices

If you decide to tell your story by writing it as family fiction, you’ve got choices to make. Many of these choices should precede your narrative summary writing.

Write Your Family Story – Part 7: Immediate Scenes

In part 7 of the series I demonstrate how a technique called “immediate scene” can breathe life into your family fiction story.

Write Your Family Story – Conclusion and Additional Resources

The conclusion of my Write Your Family Story series of articles including additional resources.

About the Author

Harold William Thorpe grew up in southwest Wisconsin and spent many happy hours at his and his relatives’ farms. It wasn’t until retirement that he decided to fictionalize his mother’s memoirs. The result is the award winning O’Shaughnessy Chronicles. In addition he has written 4 children’s books, one for each of his grandchildren: The Good Friends Storybooks.

The O’Shaughnessy Chronicles

Based on Harold Thorpe’s own family history, the O’Shaughnessy Chronicles are a series of books set in Iowa County, Wisconsin in the early-to-mid 20th Century. Read on for synopses, reviews, outtakes, book club questions and to download free chapters.

Good Friends Storybooks

The first 3 Good Friends Storybooks are books for elementary school children that mix adventure, quirky talking animals, gentle lessons about friendship, and Wisconsin history.

Social Media

Join me on social media for photos, links, articles and resources related to Wisconsin history and family fiction.

Book Clubs

These free book questions can help get the discussion flowing at your next meeting.

Chapter Downloads

Did you know you can download a chapter for any of my books for free? Give them a try before you buy.

Where to buy

These books are available through Amazon, publisher Little Creek Press, and many local bookstores.

The beautiful Wisconsin photography used in the banners and background, and on social media are by Terry McNeil. See more of Terry’s work on his Capture Wisconsin profile